Church Year


The Church Year is the organisation of the seasons, festivals and commemorations in which the Church proclaims and participates in the mystery of Christ's life, death and resurrection. The church year is divided into three sections, (a) the Advent, Christmas, and Epiphany cycle, (b) the Lent, Holy Week, and Easter cycle which includes the Day of Pentecost, and (c) the time of the Church, the Sundays after Pentecost, a time of spiritual growth and learning. During the church year, there are days in which the lives of saints or events are commemorated.